Stories from Maidsville…


I bite my lips to stop myself from crying tears of joy as she moves the sofas
and attacks weeks of dust and hair balls underneath. My Mom’s maid in India had
been very specific about this. Cleaning only applicable to unfurnished areas of
the house. Which when living in over-the-top, never minimalistic and
Godrej-almirah loving Kerala means about ¼ of your actual house floor space.”

I have seen my mother go through dozens of daily helpers. The clean ones, the abominably dirty ones and the ones who were ‘keepers’ but who couldn’t stay for long. So you see maid-hunting is a lot like ‘mate-hunting’. You go through life looking for the Right One, and if you’re lucky you find them. Read more here about my maid-hunt in Singapore for the Right One.

Get my updates on Facebook by clicking here.

One thought on “Stories from Maidsville…

Leave a comment