The Fight Cubs


So do they fight at home?”, most people who meet me for the first time ask me this question about R and S. Or at least a variant of this question.

When I say ‘Yes‘ or ‘OMG all the time’ or ‘That’s all they ever do’ some laugh and ask me, “They’re so small. What do they possibly fight about?

20140226-154235.jpg

So I hereby give you an example of the daily fight scene.

After a huge dose of hollering and yelling from me which has no effect on the boys and lotsa effect on my BP, I wipe sweat off my brow and walk back into the kitchen.

I hear them talking in the playroom.

Steve : “Raayaan, Raayaan, Amma angwee a-meeee”
Ryan : “No Stevie, Amma is angry at me.
Steve : “Noooo, Amma angwee a-meeee
Ryan (with raised voice) “No Stevie, Amma is angry at ME.” The me is loud and firm.
Steve : “Noooo…a-meeee

I am not in the room, but I can hear the sound of a toy being raised and a thud is heard. A wail. And then frenzied kicks and slaps. The Fight Cubs are at it again.

Rules of the Fight Cubs
(Adapted from their much more genteel brothers at the Fight Club)

1st RULE: You can talk(or rant) about the FIGHT CUBS.
2nd RULE: You CAN talk (or rant or cry) about the FIGHT CUBS.
3rd RULE: If someone says “stop” or goes limp, taps out the fight is over. But that’s only if you tend to obey rules.
4th RULE: Only two cubs to a fight.
5th RULE: One fight at a time (ya right!)
6th RULE: No shirts, no shoes (always)
7th RULE: Fights will go on as long as they have to. (They most certainly will)
8th RULE: If this is your first night with the FIGHT CUBS, you HAVE to fight.

Author’s note: Stevie celebrated his 2nd birthday on Feb 23rd. The annual birthday write-up is a bit delayed, but it’s here now.

To read my earlier milestone write-ups of the Fight Cubs:

Ryan’s first birthday post

Ryan’s second birthday post

On the day Steve was born

Ryan’s third birthday post

We can correctly assume that 2013 was a busy busy year for me. Neither of the fight cubs got a bday post that year! What a shame!

3 thoughts on “The Fight Cubs

  1. Pingback: Once upon a Headache | And thats the Way I see It....

Leave a Reply

