Dear Blog


My Mom left today. She had stayed on 3 months to take care of baby and me, and now there’s a vacuum in the apartment.

I stood by the doorway as she left for the airport holding baby Steve in my arms and sobbing softly. Even though I was a mother of two, I behaved like a scared 2-year old.

I picked at dinner. Me, the woman who rewards herself with food every other minute. I rocked an unusually cranky Steve to sleep. I felt that Ryan climbing on the stool was particularly irksome. The program on the TV disgusted me.

Then I remembered you, a loyal friend, a silent confidante. Forgotten.

Patiently waiting for me to write. Something. Anything.

So I did.

Sorry we lost touch for a while. But I’m back now.

Note: Drafted this piece in April. And in true wannabauthor fashion, it got lost in the Drafts section until I read through it again today.

Leave a Reply

