The Facebook Poem


This is my first attempt at poetry, in the last 20 years or so. The last time I wrote a poem, it had an interesting vocabulary of ‘rat’, ‘cat’ and ‘mat’ in it and each sentence had been painfully, but meaninglessly rhymed.

This effort is a reciprocation for a burst of such similar creativity from ‘A’s side all conveyed through the glorious platform of Facebook wall posts.

So without too much ado, here goes:

I spend days writing, but I wasn’t alone.
I sensed a force, cheering me on,
I heard ideas being whispered, from I could not imagine where.
I saw words being formed, from I could not imagine what,
I witnessed dreams being realised, which I could not perceive how,
I thought I was being smart, and I thought I was being clever
Then I thought of you, and I knew the force was our love forever

Here’s ‘A‘s initialย poem on Facebook this morning which spurred the whole sequence of events:

This is for my wife….the love of my life ๐Ÿ™‚

I am eager to see the fame you will earn,
People will stop & heads will turn.
So keep up the writing that we love to see,
…And soon we will see your novel to be!

Author’s Note: I have a Facebook fan page which is starting to show signs of dehydration in terms of fan count. So if any of my kind readers would do me the favour of going and liking my page, ‘ppreciate it a lot!

4 thoughts on “The Facebook Poem

  1. Places you will go wannabauthor,
    believes the heart of the reader
    I read your articles every weekend,
    wonder everytime how quickly they end
    Good things come in small packages,
    the fact that your 55-er acknowledges
    Some posts about differences, very witty and splendorous,
    some leave us thinking, some absolutely hilarious
    Your posts make connection with a common man’s heart,
    that geographical boundaries even fail to set apart
    Your stories swipe us off our feet,
    I’m hungry, so gonna grab something to eat
    Just in case anybody makes a guess,
    framing this poem took 10min, oh bless!

    Heh, you have written us many wonderful stories, so I’ve framed this silly poem on behalf of all readers.

    Thanks for the post ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

