The New Year Resolution I didn’t take in 2010 but which worked out anyway


There are life-changing decisions in everyone’s lives. At all ages. And these decisions are the keys to the door of your future.

A newborn takes the decision to flip over and he realises that the world is a lot more than the ceiling of his baby room.

A child learns the rules of ‘Hide and Seek’ and he discovers that rules can be fun too.

A grown up lets down his guard enough to love another person as much as himself. And he realises that giving can be as rewarding as receiving.

Decisions. Big. Small. Half-baked. Forgotten. All gently guiding us in ways that we thought our life would never move.

In mid-2010, I took a tentative decision. To write. To publish things that had been scrawled hurriedly in the last pages of notebooks or typed on Notepad files and never reopened.

I sat and thought of names for my blog. Nothing amazing came to mind. So I settled for something that described what I had been for a really long time. A Wannabauthor. Someone who walked the library rows, trailing my fingers on books, imagining my name there. Someone who read the ‘About the Author’ section of books very  seriously looking for similarities between them and me. Someone who found writing a perfectly fitted key to that door to my future.

And that’s who I became. The ‘wannabauthor’ in the blogosphere. And what a ride 2010 was in terms of blogging! I wish I could end this post by giving you the link to my new website and my recently published novel. But not yet 😛

But I am in a better place than my pre-blog days. Each day seems a new chance to observe the world and write down my thoughts. Each day seems heaven when people comment, criticize or just add 1 more view to my blog stats.

If I told you that blogging has helped my self-confidence, made me 10 pounds lighter and my bank account a few zero’s richer, I am bullshitting. But this blog of mine has been my friend, my confidante and most importantly my secret door to shut out the world when life takes its toll on me.

So here’s a WordPress generated 2010 overview of my blog. How many posts? How many views? Maximum views. Blah, blah, blah….

Overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

 This blog was viewed about 12,000 times in 2010.

In 2010, there were 56 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 60 posts. There were 107 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 9mb. That’s about 2 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was July 1st with 267 views. The most popular post that day was The Stamp Collector.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, indiblogger.in, orkut.com, blog.blogadda.com, and orkut.co.in.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

The Stamp Collector June 2010
25 comments and 2 Likes on WordPress.com

2

‘Will you Cross the Skies for Me?’ May 2010
22 comments

3

While you were Shopping June 2010
39 comments

4

About me June 2010
9 comments

5

Mad about Ryan July 2010
30 comments

Wannabauthor not so wannabe anymore?

The great news is I am finally getting paid for writing. By some amazing people who were good enough to recognise my ‘worth’ (if I may take the liberty to call it that, being the New Year and all).

So this New Year, no resolutions for me. I am just going to lie low and see what life brings me. Probably a whole new key bunch. And some where in that bunch, a key that opens to the door to a published novel? 😉 Who knows? Time will tell.

Get my updates on Facebook by clicking here.
7 thoughts on “The New Year Resolution I didn’t take in 2010 but which worked out anyway

  1. A newborn takes the decision to flip over and he realises
    that the world is a lot more than the ceiling of his baby room. A
    child learns the rules of ‘Hide and Seek’ and he discovers that
    rules can be fun too. A grown up lets down his guard enough to love
    another person as much as himself. And he realises that giving can
    be as rewarding as receiving. These are just lovely
    sentences….such a beatiful way to observe things we take for
    granted..

  2. Happy New Year Maria..hope you have a wonderful and fruitful year ahead. I miss reading your posts but promise to drop in regularly.

    I loved the way this blog post started…really fluid…

Leave a Reply

