Newly-Weds


He watched his new bride fold the laundry. Including handkerchiefs. Just like his mother. They were so alike.

It was an embarrassing thought. Did men really end up marrying their mothers?

He tried to dismiss the thought.

What do you love about me?” he asked. 

She smiled and said “You remind me of my father.”

Author’s Note : This is my first attempt at writing a 55 er-fiction piece. A 55 er -fiction is a short fictional piece made up of 55 words or less.

Trust me, it’s not as easy as it sounds.  I tend to write (and write and write…) most of time and expressing myself in so few words was like trying to stuff my entire wardrobe in a single suitcase. Thanks to a Twitter friend, I finally took the plunge 🙂

I have a Facebook fan page which is starting to show signs of dehydration in terms of fan count. So if any of my kind readers would do me the favour of going and liking my page, ‘ppreciate it a lot!

19 thoughts on “Newly-Weds

    • Hmmm..that’s what ppl say. But I doubt if it applies for the majority of marriages. I have seen the ‘Opposites attract’ rule applied more often 🙂

  1. cute… i guess, though, we always try to reproduce important relationships in our lives. drag the old back into whatever new environment we find ourselves in.
    (even if we might not consciously want it*gah*)

  2. Pingback: How You Can Join the E-book Revolution! « shiyan

  3. Interesting play of words.
    It is becoming quite a rage isn’t it. A friend recently started writing 55ers on her blog and so have many other blogs I visit.

    • Yes Prateek. Seems to be some sort of ongoing trend. From a reader point of view, these are easy to read because of their short length.

Leave a Reply

